The Reluctant New Year’s Post

The first post of a new year – it’s a lot of pressure.  I wasn’t going to recognize the ringing in of 2012 at all since many people have done it so well already but none of the posts felt natural without mentioning it.  So, here it is:

It’s a new year and, it’s going to be a good one.

I picked up our local paper the other day and was shocked at the doom and gloom contained within it.  For a few moments, I’ll be honest, my stomach lurched as all of the potentially disastrous scenarios played themselves out in my mind, but, with a shake of my head and a folding of the paper I tried to put them out of my head.

I won’t bore you with a resolutions list (I don’t have one), but, here’s what I want 2012 to look like for me.  I am going to remember and share the kindness and beauty that is still present in everyday life, even if it’s missing from much of our media.  I might share videos like this (nature is amazing) or this (seriously I tear every time – it’s ridiculous) or perhaps this (I love this series ‘move’, ‘eat’ and ‘learn’. They make me smile every time).  I will remember that for every person who nearly knocked over one of my children while we were out this holiday season, there were five others who were kind and had nothing but smiles to share.  These are some of the things I will focus on in 2012.

I don’t know what’s in store for this year.  I’m going to do things a lot differently with mocobabies – I don’t know what it will all be or how it will turn out, but, that’s the fun of it.  It’s going to be a year of trying new things –  not just thinking about them.

Ups and downs are an inevitable part of life, but the doom and gloom doesn’t have to be.  I’m going to do better, try harder and live happier – it’s going to be a good year.

To start it off, here is a colouring page for the letter A that I will post on Facebook and twitter – print it, colour it and have fun making the airplane sign and noises!

Do you make resolutions?  Do you revisit the list at the end of the year?

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “The Reluctant New Year’s Post

  1. What a great New Year’s post! I watched the Hugs video (will catch the others soon) and it’s great. What a nice thing to share. 🙂 I so enjoy your positive outlook on life — it’s refreshing and fun and a great way to look at the world.

    Hmmm… something different for 2012? Well, I already like your blog so much, I’m not sure what you could do. But I do have one idea: could you explain how to do the signs? I can print the “A” page for my kids, but I have no idea how to make the sign for “airplane.”

    Maybe some illustrations? Or if you’re feeling brave, a vlog? It’d be great to see these signs illustrated from someone who understands them. Happy New Year!

  2. Melissa,

    Oh, it’s when that first lady hugs him and rubs his face – gets me every time!

    Thank you for all the kind words and ideas! Our new website (fingers crossed in the next couple of months) we are going to signs up and easily accessible and it’s a great idea to have them more accessible in the blog as well!

    A vlog – now that’s just funny.

Leave a Reply

