My Perfect Day

I love notebooks. I love the feeling of them and the potential the empty pages offer me. My intention is always to fill them with literary genius (I have lofty goals) but they end up filled with scribbles, untouched story ideas and little moments that I don’t want to forget.

While cleaning my desk I found a few forgotten ones at the bottom of my drawer. I found a page, apparently written while in need of a little me time, full of dreams of my perfect day.

Family struggles, pressures and mom guilt all wait patiently outside my bedroom door not making a sound, leaving plenty of room for my butler to come and go as required. I catch up on television shows, geared at an audience over seven years old, on a big screen TV that has magically appeared at the end of my bed. A steaming cup of coffee starts my day and my husband will deliver a pumpkin spice latte later in the afternoon (oh pumpkin spice, I love you).

A gentle breeze sifts through the window screens, carrying just enough chill that I have to snuggle under the blankets to keep warm. The kids are close by ready to be called at my whimsy for hugs, giggles and cuddles while my husband is available for jaunty banter whenever boredom strikes.

I have the freedom to stay in bed all day long with not a worry in the world. No lunches to make or laundry to put away. Just me and the precious few I decide to let in for a few minutes…

What does your perfect day look like?

2 Comments

Filed under kids, Life, motherhood

2 responses to “My Perfect Day

  1. I love this line, “The kids are close by ready to be called at my whimsy for hugs, giggles and cuddles while my husband is available for jaunty banter whenever boredom strikes.” Sounds perfect!

    Glad you found some real paper with real writing on it — sounds like it brought some real happiness. 🙂

    I was just checking out your mocobabies site — with the flash card and stickers… super cool. I learned the alphabet in sign language when I was younger, and have always wanted to learn more. I think those stickers look like a genius idea. Do you think you’ll have more sign stickers coming out for kids a little older, like preschool? I would love that.

    • Thank you so much!

      We don’t have plans right now for a second set of stickers but will soon have a lot more educational, fun downloads, both signing and non-signing, that will suit older children.

      And, I really appreciate the compliment – I think my stickers are pretty genius too… 😉

Leave a Reply

