Questions Answered

Kari, writer of the Haute Tot and Baby Couture blog recently wrote a great review about our products. She pointed out a lot of our best features but also raised a few questions.  Since I’ve always been told that if one person has a question five other people are wondering the same thing, I  thought I’d take a few minutes to respond to the questions and suggestions here.

Kari writes:

“My favorite product of mocobabies is definitely the signing flash cards.  They are easy to use, practical and perfectly sized to use at home and for traveling.  I think a few of the flashcards are somewhat useless, however, as I don’t think my baby really needs to know the sign for “hippo” or “horse,” for example.  Some other more practical words would be a better fit.”

I have wanted a House Hippo since my husband showed me a genius commercial from The Concerned Children’s Advertisers years ago.    And I suppose my adoration for Hippopotamuses (or hippopotami, if you wish) may have influenced my decision to include the hippo in our flash card set.  It was also, back when I started signing with Jackson, a very hard word to find the sign for.

When I was deciding what words to put in the flash card set I received a lot of input and decided to include a mix of zoo, farm and around-the-house  animals.  Hippo was one of our more exotic animal choices and further inspired by a favourite storybook and stuffed animal at the time.

Would I put hippo in the set if doing it today?  Maybe.  I still think he’s pretty cute.  But it is useless in terms of words your child will likely ever need to use.  They will probably never have to alert you to a Hippo running across the living room floor or explain that they’re crying at night because there might be a Hippo in their closet.

Kari writes:

“Regarding the decals, I like the idea of them, but prefer that they came in words that physically described the object they’re actually stuck to.  For example, I would like to see a decal for the word, “book,” and then be able to place that decal on a book.”

Our decals are  intended to be put directly on items that you use with baby.  We have put the ‘book’ decal on the wall, the bookshelf and on the book itself.

When testing the materials for our stickers I tested each one on a piece of paper.  Even after weeks, when removed gently, the material I chose came off without any damage or ripping.  So to put a decal on the cover of a book, which is typically laminated, hasn’t been a problem at all in our house.

Still skeptical?  Let me know and I’ll send you some testers!

Kari writes:

“These posters are perfect to frame and hang up in your child’s room… Also, I’m not quite sure what the poster as to do with baby signing, if anything, but regardless, they’re adorable and practical to teach the alphabet.”

I have asked myself that very same question, which is probably why it’s taken me so long to push the posters out into the world.  We have had fantastic feedback; after a local baby show I had families contact me for more artwork because they wanted to have a set for their child’s room.  But what does that have to do with baby signing?  Nothing really, but it does have to do with kids.  And fun.

I remember being in line at the grocery store with Jackson many times when he would be  close to losing it.  Doing the alphabet song was often all that got us through the line without screams that would have been heard the next town over.  He would start to fuss but get easily distracted and focus on my hands while I quietly said the letters.  No, not a typo, I said the letters.  For those of you new to the blog – I don’t sing in public.  Even my own children tell me to stop.

So when I was figuring out what I wanted to do next the alphabet seemed like the natural choice.

The alphabet is so much fun – I’d go as far as to say it’s magical and I don’t believe that education needs to be a linear A through Z experience.  This poster is one of my favourite things because there’s something new every time I look at it.   Perhaps it would be nice to have  pictures for each corresponding letter but I thought we could leave some of the fun for you to come up with on your own.

Now, the baby sign tie-in:  each poster will come with the hand signs for the alphabet done in our usual fun and simple style.

Now that some questions have been answered, please head over to check out Kari’s full review and enter the contest! It’s always fun to get free stuff!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Signing, Giveaways

Leave a Reply

