Copious amounts of cool

Seems a little late for a New Year’s inspired post but one of the things about taking vacation to start off a new year is that you arrive home refreshed yet already behind.  A small price to pay.

When I wasn’t hearing   ‘mom’  ‘mom’  ‘mom’ ‘mom’ ‘mom’ ‘mom’  during our 18 hour drive home from South Carolina  I had time to reflect on 2009 and the kind of year it had been.  Verdict:   unremarkable.   Lily found her words (woot woot) in ‘09 but other than that nothing really noteworthy happened.

Now, I’m not one for resolutions because I think, just like New Year’s celebrations, they can really only lead to disappointment.  However, this year I have started to put some goals down on paper.  A little check list of what I want to wring out of the next 350 days.

There are the typical starting-a-new-year dreams:  a spotless house, dishes washed as soon as they’re  dirtied, banishing the junk drawer…the list could go on and on.  All those things that my undomesticated butt hip-checks to the side as I choose instead, well, anything I can think of other than housework.

But those aren’t the things that I really want to focus on this year.

I’ve gained so very much being a mom but I’ve lost a few things along the way as well.   My sense of style has gone into hibernation and any ‘cool’ that I ever possessed has vanished.  And I blame six years of dancing like a goof around the house with my kids for losing what little rhythm I used to have.

This is my year to be more than a mom.  I want to be a Great Mom (not to be confused with a ‘Supermom’.  That’s a whole other post…) and I think I have to get back a little bit of myself  in order to do that.

Jumping right into La River Cliché – this will be the year I find myself.  I will ride the rapids and walk the shores – no stone will go unturned.  I have a hunch that I will turn up more dork than cool but I will embrace whatever I find.

I wish everyone a happy and healthy 2010 full of realized resolutions and copious amounts of cool.

41 Comments

Filed under Life, motherhood

41 responses to “Copious amounts of cool

  1. cheeriolink2

    I like your writing style a lot! 🙂
    Motherhood is always so interesting to read about from a third party point of view. If I’m not being too bold, I think you should elaborate on this topic. Your writing is really enjoyable to read.

  2. It’s great your reclaiming a bit of yourself. What are some of the goals??? Inquiring minds want to know!!!

  3. Love your writing! And “Jackbear” and “Lilypad” are simply wonderful names (?)…nick-names? Whatever, they are fun!

    • Ah, Thanks! Jack’s just getting to the point now where he looks embarassed when I say “Jackbear”. Every so often he rolls his eyes and lets me know his name is Jackson. 😉

  4. That’s the attitude! Get out of the drab and into the drool…er…I mean…cool. lol. I was thinking of kids. lol. Great blog!

  5. Hope you don’t change your coolness after being a mother. I’m not sure yet but I think that’s the time when everyone seems to change their perceptions of fun, entertainment, fashion, music, etc.

  6. Hi, i’ve read your blog here. I’m aware of thé fact of giving some of your favourite things up tor motherhood and thats something i’m afraid of. i hope that things wil go well in 2010.and you can work on your goals!

  7. Hi Kathy,
    I just saw your blog on the WordPress home page. My lady and I started to communicate with our children via sign language before they started to use words and create verbal communication. It was a fun and positive experience and made it possible for us to understand quickly important things like when the children where hungry or thirsty. (So I did just think they needed more sleep). They are now much older and chatting away.

    I wish you the best of success in your goal achievement. Writing them down is an excellent idea. In fact, since helping people reach their goals is part of my work I have learned that writing down your top six goals each day can help reinforce achievement or help you figure out you need to get rid of one of them.

    For what it is worth, I have read and recommended many times a book that helps adults and children use better their mental power. It is not a book that I wrote. It is by John Kehoe and you can find a few details about it here http://thewondertechnique.com/mind-power-for-children/

    Enjoy a wonderful day,
    David

    P.S.
    By the way I think my children actually taught me to dance.

    • I like that – writing down your daily goals. I’ll have to give it a try. I will take a look at the link as well, thanks for sharing it.
      I love your P.S! Mine probably have as well but they make for a nice excuse when people point and laugh…

  8. Sara

    I happened on to your blog as I was about to set one up for myself. Funny similarities of two women in very different phases of life…my kids are in your phase. I too am behind on the new year kickoff because I spent time with 4 of our grandchildren while their mom and dad travelled the globe. I too decided to recapture my style and rhythm in 2010 -if ever i had any. I was laid off a couple months ago, and am “staying home” for now, so have a closet full of professional attire that does me no good for use while achieving my goals of learning to use all my technology, taking long walks at the wildlife refuge, and dancing again…a varied set of goals that make perfect sense to me. Happy New Year, and enjoy your journey!

    I’m off now to set up my blog.

  9. You’re a strong person, there is no possible way i could sit through an 18 car trip with kids….even if they were mine. Cheers.

  10. Lilypad… i love your name…

  11. Yoes

    See, I told you so. When will you listen to me?

  12. Wow, thank you everyone for the compliments, encouragement and comments!
    ~Nicole and cheeriolink2 – maybe I’ll make that one of my next posts!
    ~Evan, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Having one of those cab dividers put in before our next one though! 😉
    ~Maybe one day, Yoes.

  13. dana

    so proud of you!

  14. A Fill

    Yo’ ain’t cool, Kath. You’s HOT!!!

  15. I know exactly how you feel!:)

  16. Thanks for being honest about 2009 being ‘unremarkable.’ I read a lot of blogs that reflected on 2009 and almost every one was searching for something incredible or dramatic in 2000 and 9 even if there was nothing. I think it takes some bravery to say that it was 2009 was just another year.
    Good luck in 2010.

  17. My resolution is to become less of a Were-Mom at Certain Times.

  18. We make an annual trip to the Outer Banks with a vehicle full of little ones and can relate to your “mom, mom…” (I get the “dad, dad…”).

    Nice post and best wishes for 2010.

  19. Mel

    Wow. 18 hours! That sounds… intense. My son is 2, so it’s hard to imagine more than the 2-hour drive to my in-laws’ with him just yet. And the “Mommy?” “Mommy?” “Mommy?” is a fairly constant thing since I lost my job last summer and now stay home with him.

    • The drive is a little intense. The way there is better, they have something to look forward to. The way home can be a bit problematic!
      My kids are home with me too and there are days when I want to tell them that ‘mom’ has been moved to the naughty word list and can’t be used anymore. Except I know they’ll come up with something else to call me that I really don’t want to hear!

  20. Marie

    I am really loving this blog!!! thanks for the inspiration to being a better mom and giving me some great ideas…I am with you on dancing around the house. Once a great dancer myself….ummmm, not no more. :o)

  21. Skye

    So relatable. I love it.

  22. awesome Moms rule, love my Mom

  23. Rachel

    Kathy,

    Just read your blog for the first time (found it through your twitter updates) and I love it! Great, fresh writing style and wonderful sense of humour. I can SO relate to your comments! Keep it up!

    Rachel

Leave a Reply

