Ah, the things they say…

I’ve loved watching my kids through every stage and every age.  Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration – on the morning of  Jackson’s third birthday he  turned into an unrecognizable little monster for about 6 months and Lily is still full-throttle in her terrible two’s.  I had hoped she had found her way out last week but as I (stupidly) spoke those words out loud the spell was broken and the tantrums began again.  But even on days when I feel like my head might actually explode from it’s inability to process another request or fit the echo of more screams, my kids can still make me laugh.   

My favourite question from Jackson came when he was just a few months shy of his 4th birthday.  We were having a story time when he stopped to ask if he was real.  After I confirmed that he was indeed real he responded “But how do we know that someone isn’t just reading a story about us?”  I sat there staring at him in awe; completely fascinated by his mind. 

Fast forward almost two years and this morning just as my coffee was starting to send it’s sweet rays of joy through my system granting me a few beautiful, albeit chemically induced, moments of calm before the day began  Jack broke the glorious silence to ask:   ‘Mom, can you speak Toaster?’ 

And with that I decided to change things up a bit.  Our contest is still running where we are giving away a set of Signing Stickers, Signing Flash Cards, tote bag AND a $40 gift certificate from our friends at BBugalug_Chocolate Kiss Barrettesugalug (www.bugalugbaby.com).    So your little girl (or niece, friend, student…) can look even more adorable as she’s signing!  A prize value of over $85! The final day to enter is still September 3rd  (random winner drawn on the 4th) but we’re changing the rules.  To enter tell us one of the best things your kids have ever said.  Funny, silly, crazy, strange – whatever it was, we would love to hear it!  If you would like  you can still tell us about your baby girl’s first hairstyle too.   And we will throw your name in the hat again if you decide to join us on Twitter or facebook.   Just post  your story here or on our facebook page but  remember to tell us  if you’ve taken advantage of the additional entries (ie:  follow or fan).  

Looking forward to hearing your stories!  

Must be a resident of Canada or the Continental United States.
11 Comments

Filed under Giveaways, My Favourite Things

11 responses to “Ah, the things they say…

  1. Cindy Locke

    My barely 2 year old, instead of asking what a noise is, always says, “You hear dat?” Cracks me up every time.

  2. Melodie

    Okay – so I just snorted coffee through my nose when I read “can you speak toaster?”. I had to actually explain to my coworkers why I was laughing so hard!

    Connor tooted the day and when I asked “was that you?” his response was “heehee, my bum told me that!”.

    Outta the mouth of babes!

  3. Terry

    My three-year-old daughter wanted to hold my hand while I was driving (and, yes, she is in her carseat in the backseat, so I would have to twist my arm unnaturally and reach through the seats. So not going to happen. But, I digress.). When I declined to do so, she attempted to sweeten the deal by adding in her nicest voice: “Pretty please? I’ll give you four bucks. You can go to Taco Bell.”

    A few days later, this was upped to “You can go to Taco Bell and Starbucks.”

    And then, when I asked the girls if they wanted lollipops at the bank drive through, she declared “I want MONEY!”

    (Probably so she can pay off all those Gorditas and Caramel Macchiatos she owes me.)

  4. Mandy Claridge

    My daughter doesn’t have much of a vocabulary yet besides the usually mama, dada, num (when she eats), hi.(She’s 8 months old) But at 7 months old she knew how to sign Milk!! 🙂

  5. I love all the stories – too funny!

    Mandy, thanks – I should have been more specific that signing stories are ALWAYS welcome! 7 months, that’s great for signing milk!

    Thanks everyone. I hope the stories keep coming. So fun to read!

  6. Emily

    So, I was nursing my six month old, when I hear my two and a half year old in the refrigerator. She’s saying “Chocolate, berry, chocolate, berry?” When I asked her what she was doing she says, “Which one Lukey likes mommy?” she was going to let me drink it so he could have chocolate or strawberry milk like her!

  7. Tina Vlahos

    well it was one of those mornings when things don’t work out the way you want them too and your late for everything. We rushed out the door and I was walking Michaela to school, I was pushing Nikelle in the stroller and Michaela was taking her sweet little time walking behind me, so I turned around and said “Michaela! pick up the pace” so she stopped and looked on the ground. I asked her what she was doing and she replied “I can’t find it? “what does it look like?”

  8. Mandy Claridge

    Thanks! We started signing with her when she was 4 months old. I work in child care and we also do signing there as well. I see children learning to communicate at such a young age and know the importance that signing to your child has. We love signing in our house! I havent had the chance to try any mocobabies products yet, Ive just been doing the signs that I know or see someone else doing. I would love to try some though both at home and at work. 🙂

  9. And our winner is Emily!
    Please email me at kathy@mocobabies.com with your address and I will get your package in the mail! Congratulations!

    I’ve loved reading all of your stories ~ thank you! And, Mel although it sounds slightly painful, I like that I made you snort coffee out your nose. 😉

  10. I know the contest is over, but it’s always good to share these stories.

    My sister was about 3. For some reason she was always fascinated with Africa and their animals. She preferred to play with lions and tigers over dolls most days, but named her dolls african made up names.
    One day she was toting around her anatomically correct african american doll, and she turns to me and says, “I know the difference between boys and girls.” Shocked and intrigued, I genuinely wanted to know how she knew so I asked, “What is the difference between boys and girls?”
    To which she proudly replied, “Boys have trunks!”

    To this day, I always have a good chuckle to myself when I see an elephant.

  11. Thanks for keeping the stories coming, Steph! I love it – we’ll all chuckle now when we see an elephant…

    And everyone should keep an eye out for Steph’s new store coming soon: Modern Eco Family. Even the welcome page is adorable! http://modernecofamily.com/welcome.html

Leave a Reply

