Bye Bye Little Fruit Fly

I mentioned in my very first post that I had a great solution for getting rid of fruit flies and it’s amazing how many people  emailed asking for it. 

It came from a  free magazine that I received in the mail before we moved.  For some reason, instead of tossing it in recycling, I threw it in one of our many boxes.  I read through it during some professional-level procrastination as we unpacked and found some great home hints  including this easy little concoction for getting rid of fruit flies.  It really does work – we had a small cup of it on our counter last summer and have just started again this year.  I keep a bowl of it near my kitchen compost bucket.   

  • 2 drops of dishwashing soap (it didn’t work as well when we used the kind that has the scrubbing beads)
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar  (It  doesn’t work quite as well with other types of vinegar) 

The fruit flies are attracted to it and end up drowing themselves.  I know, it seems cruel but I make myself feel better by thinking that if they’re silly enough to dive in…

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Bye Bye Little Fruit Fly

  1. Nadia

    I used this great home made fruit fly concoction & it worked wonderfully! I didn’t have apple cider vinegar so I used white wine vinegar instead and it did the trick. thanks!

Leave a Reply

