Welcoming a new ‘mocoBaby’!

I love everything about newborns:  their expressions, their little ears, sweet noses and adorable baby sneezes.  Their perfect little feet and wrinkly little hands.   Ah, and the smell.  There is nothing quite like the smell of a baby. 

My lifelong friend had her first child in the wee hours of the morning yesterday, a boy,  and I was fortunate enough to be able to steal my very first (of many) cuddles.  He’s absolutely perfect and has two perfectly  adoring parents.   The birth of this beautiful boy has made me think of my childhood and growing up with my friend;  one of the most incredible people I’ve ever known.   We were inseparable for much of our childhood but drifted apart as we worked towards defining our own identities through the teenage years.    But events always brought us back together and she has been there with me through every milestone moment in my life.  She often quips that she hasn’t been a good friend, completely devaluing the support she has given me over the years.  We may not know each others lives in intimate detail as we did years ago but perhaps that’s he beauty of it;  to know that someone truly knows you and will be there  without an argument over who was last to call or how long it’s been since you’ve chatted. 

Also one of my biggest mocoSupporters, she has been there with words of encouragement and sales expertise every step of the way.   In her mind, not being a good friend included dropping everything and taking time off work  to head to Vegas to help out at a show.  Furthermore, her complete lack of thoughtfulness forced her to have chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine sent to our hotel room before her arrival to congratulate us on our success so far.  Horrible friend, I know.  Hopefully because of her unyielding support of moco, she won’t mind my documenting some of her signing stories since I’m all out of my own newbies  to write about!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Signing, Life

Leave a Reply

