I can’t believe it’s almost Christmas

‘Tis the busiest time of the year.  The shopping. The wrapping.  The crafting.  The baking.  The visiting.  The playing.  So much to do and never quite enough time to fit it all in.

We love Christmas.    I woke up in the middle of the night last night with a knot in my stomach like I was 7 years old again – so excited that it was only one more sleep until Christmas Eve.  I shouldn’t even admit that last year I ended up ‘accidentally’ waking Jackson up around 6:30am Christmas morning because I just couldn’t wait any longer.  However, I don’t think I’ll have the same problem this year as Jackson is very aware of the generous bearded man and quite curious as to what he will be leaving under the tree.

It has been a wonderful season for me.  I had Jackson sign “I love you” when he finally found me in the audience at his very first school Christmas concert.  And Lily has been progressing incredibly well with her verbal skills.   She is playing Simon Says and imitating her brother during play which she wouldn’t have done at all 2 or 3 months ago.   The words that Lily says well (and are easily understood) she doesn’t often sign anymore but she’s so eager to learn new signs.  For some of the words that Lily is having trouble with she has been starting to use signs that I would have thought long forgotten.  She can’t quite say ‘Bunka’ (our affectionate nickname for Grandpa) so she has started using the sign again while she tries to improve on the spoken word.    Since starting therapy Lily is a different girl and we’re so thankful for all of the strategies that Sarah has taught us.

Now we sit and wait for Santa.

We wish you the happiest holiday full of love and laughter surrounded by family and friends.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby Signing

2 responses to “I can’t believe it’s almost Christmas

  1. Amy

    Merry Christmas to you too! We miss you and hope you’re having a GREAT time.

  2. I’m so glad your kids are doing well. I showed your flashcards to one of my friends yesterday. They are so cute.

    Holly

Leave a Reply

