It’s a bird. It’s a plane…

img_3552

Since starting school Jackson has become obsessed with superheros.  He doesn’t have a favourite – he pointed out recently that he would hate to hurt any of their feelings so he just loves them all. 

Jack woke up desperate for a Superman costume a little while ago.   He soberly said “Mom,  I just really feel like the world needs saving today.”  At that moment, it didn’t matter what else I had planned for the day, there was no way my little guy  wasn’t getting some sort of Superman attire.  Thus began our search for  the perfect shirt.  Unfortunately, we ended up with some red and yellow felt. 

My crafting skills leave a lot to be desired but he was in love, like only a 4 year old can be, with his rather pitiful looking blue t-shirt and red cape tied around his shoulders.  Shortly after completion we headed out on a walk. I started saying ‘It’s a bird.  It’s a  plane.  No!  It’s Superman” and Jackson would jump as if trying to fly through the sky when I said Superman.  After a few minutes of  walking in silence (ah, sweet silence) I heard Lily’s familiar  attention-getting ‘uh-uh-uh’.  As I turned to look at her, she made the sign for ‘plane’.  I asked if she’d seen a plane and started listening for the familiar hum of the engines.  She shook her head and made the sign for bird.  I started to look at the tree beside us when the lightbulb went off. 

“Lily, is it a bird?”  She smiled, shaking her head.  “It’s a plane?”  She smiled, shaking her head.  “No! It’s SUPERMAN!”.  She shrieked in delight and started jumping. 

It’s our thing now.   Whether the kids are just across the room and we’re playing or they are on the verge of a serious case of the grumps, I can sign ‘bird’ with a questioning look on my face and they will almost immediately smile, sign back and finish the game. 

But, if I had known that Jack would want to live in his Superman T (literally) I probably would have spent a little more time on it…

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Signing

3 responses to “It’s a bird. It’s a plane…

  1. What a sweet sweet story.

  2. AND I think you did a very excellent job on the Superman Shirt!

  3. Sandy

    Oh Kathy, this will last a long time! Charlie spent an entire summer with a towel tied around his neck. His cousins got very tired of hearing “I know, lets play superheroes!”
    I don’t know how they get it, but it is a boy thing.
    The year we got him pj’s at Christmas that were Superman, with a real cape, I think it took two days to get them off of him!
    Enjoy it while it lasts.
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

